Fabulous flamingo

This was a project I’ve been wanting to do for a long time now. The pattern is from ‘Crocheted wild animals’ by Vanessa Mooncie. The feathers gave me quite a bit of grief, but luckily there’s always the crochet community to turn to and after someone noticed it looked like the crocodile stitch (which I had heard of, but never used) things went a lot smoother.
So here’s the result:

image

The first feather, I was so happy when I'd figured out how to make them

image

All feathers. Thankfully they're made in one go and I didn't have to sew them on one by one

image

Full flamingo, I love his looooong legs ❤

image

Now that this project is done, I might get time to work on a project for this year’s amigurumipatterns.net contest. I will keep you posted ^_~

Cheers, Lydia

3 thoughts on “Fabulous flamingo

  1. I was wondering if you could explain how you made the rows of feathers. I can make the first two feathers just fine, but I have no idea how to move on from here. I have the book and I have tried googling for help, but to no avail.

    • I have to be honest and admit that for the life of my I can’t remember exactly what I did. I do remember looking at some crocodile stitch tutorials on YouTube. So I checked it out and think that maybe this one could help: https://youtu.be/0LiH9Wk3rHc
      For me, it always helps to see the stitches being made instead of just in pictures.
      Hope this helps you as well, good luck! It takes some trial and error, but the result is amazing 😉
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

