Octopi Family – the tale of a Crochet Lounge gone wild

A while back, I joined a FaceBook group called Briljant (Brilliant) Crochet. The group was started by two very enthusiastic ladies who love to crochet so much they just had to share with others. They started organising Crochet Lounges, either evenings or Saturday afternoons when you could come in and crochet together with other people with the same interest. Like the Hook-ins I go to every once in a while, except a lot closer to home ^_^

I hadn’t had the chance to join in any of them though, since work and other obligations held a tight grip on my time. But at the end of April there was one that I just couldn’t pass up: a Lalylala themed Crochet Lounge. Some of you may remember Paul the Toadstool that I made last year. He is one of the patterns in ‘the Doll Project‘ from Lalylala. I really enjoyed making him, even though there were some bumps along the road.

But I digress. Back to the Lalylala Crochet Lounge. The idea was that you’d pay a certain amount, pick the pattern you wanted, and come to the Crochet Lounge to pick up your kit to build your very own Lalylala doll. It was quite the task to pick out the pattern that I really wanted to make, up until the point where my eye fell on Oleg the Octopus. I have no idea why, but I adore octopi. They are just too darn cute with all their squiggly legs and puffy bodies. So the choice was made. I dragged along my friend Doretta from Hagoort&co (Dutch blog!) who picked Buzz as her first Lalylala project.

The project turned out to be a bigger challenge than normally is the case with a big pattern. But I believe the story is best told in pictures, because for once, I took loads of them while working 😛

wpid-20140430_192706.jpg

Upon arrival at the crochet lounge, everyone could pick up their kit containing the pattern they chose together with the yarn, stuffing, eyes and other accessories to make their own Lalylala doll.

wpid-20140430_192715.jpg

The pattern for Oleg

wpid-20140430_200930.jpg

Everyone was asked to bring any and all Lalylala’s they made before. So many different kinds of cuteness! (and no, my Paul isn’t in this picture, because he doesn’t live at home any more ^_~) There were 70 crocheters gathered at the lounge, but luckily, not as many dolls or else there would’ve been no room left on stage

 

wpid-20140430_211210.jpg

At the end of the evening, I had finished the head already!

Continued working hard on Oleg at home, but Murphy showed his ugly head: I ran out of yarn!

Continued working hard at home, but Murphy showed his ugly head: I ran out of yarn!

Ran out of yarn again, so no arms yet for Oleg...

Ran out of yarn again, so no arms yet for Oleg…

As if that wasn't enough, my hook broke! It was one of my favourites...

As if that wasn’t enough, my hook broke! It was one of my favourites…

Finally Oleg is done and able to play with his little elephant friend

Finally Oleg is done and able to play with his little elephant friend

A wild girlfriend appeared! (Olga? Help me name her!)

A wild girlfriend appeared! (Olga? Help me name her!)

The happy couple with their pet elephant (that's not weird at all!)

The happy couple with their pet elephant (that’s not weird at all!)

Luckily, working on his girlfriend didn’t take me quite as long and I came prepared for any yarn-shortages. I ran into that lovely coral colour at the crochet lounge and instantly the idea of a little female Oleg popped into my head. When I had to order more blue yarn, I immediately included some skeins of coral to make sure I wouldn’t run into the same problems again (Paul flashback >_<) I’m not sure why she looks so different from Oleg, though. I followed the exact same pattern with the exact same brand of yarn and the same hook. Only difference is the stuffing and that I excluded a few rounds on the hat part. But I really like how they both ended up with their own looks and personalities!

They now live happily ever after on our dinner table until I have found a better spot for them ^_^ These dolls can take up a lot of time and yarn, but in the end, it’s all totally worth it!

Right now, I kind of can’t wait for the next themed Crochet Lounge!
Cheers, Lydia

ps: the elephant pattern was translated by All About Ami and can be found here for free!

Leave a Reply

