Beanstalk castle

This is great! I get to post from the couch with my laptop on my lap ^_^ I realise now how much I missed this.But on to the actual post!

Like I promised last time, here is the post about my own little beanstalk. It’s not crochet, but still pretty crafty.

DSC05610

For my birthday, my brother gave me a kit to make my own beanstalk castle. This kit included everything I needed, except for the glue. I borrowed my dad’s hot glue gun and got started.

Everything I needed to make the beanstalk

Everything I needed to make the beanstalk

Sorted the kit and got everything ready

Sorted the kit and got everything ready

I laid out some papers, since the entire kit was covered in glitter and the moss made quite a mess ^_^”
First off, I made the beanstalk itstelf and the little towers that go on top. These are made of Polymer clay and needed to go into the oven to harden.

All ready to go into the oven!

All ready to go into the oven!

It took slightly longer to bake than the time that was indicated, but I’m pretty used to that with my oven (it’s a combi microwave).

When the clay had hardened and cooled down, it was time to glue everything together and decorate the beanstalk. This was the most fun part for me, since I got to ‘play’ with the hot glue gun. (Note: never, ever actually play with a hot glue gun! It gets very hot and you could get some nasty burns!) It was rather difficult at times to figure out where I wanted to put certain elements. And at first, my beanstalk kept falling over because of the actual stalk being a bit tall and heavy and it started to lean to the side. But in the end, I managed to get everything in place the way I wanted it ^_^

Just the nut with the beanstalk and towers glued on. Now it's time to really decorate!

Just the nut with the beanstalk and towers glued on. Now it’s time to really decorate!

The finished beanstalk!

The finished beanstalk!

Detail of the bottom half

Detail of the bottom half

Detail of the top half, I especially love the little rope ladders to get from one tower to the other

Detail of the top half, I especially love the little rope ladders to get from one tower to the other

The whole thing still leans a little bit to the back, but it can lean against the wall now, so it doesn’t topple over.

I still have some materials left over. There was lots of moss, so I have a little bit of that and I ended up not using the strass stones at all. Frankly, I wouldn’t know where to stick them to. But I’m really happy with the result and am now thinking of putting the other kit on my wishlist as well. That’s a kit for a castle inside a nut.

The kits can be found here (it’s a Dutch site!) (I hope this link works, cause on my laptop I get a blank screen >_<)

Do you enjoy other crafts once in a while, or are you well and truly a one-craft person?

Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

