Toadstool Paul

In the crochet world, you come across patterns that make you go: WHOA! I really need to make this one!

Toadstool Paul was such a pattern. I saw it on the Amigurumi Patterns.net FaceBook page and couldn’t resist making the purchase. It’s even designed by a namesake of mine ^_^

DSC05291The pattern itself isn’t too difficult, except for the collar that uses a backpost stitch. I’ve had my fair share of trouble with that one, but after some practise I managed to make it look right. Another thing that can make it a bit hard to work on, is that it’s pretty much worked up in one piece. On the other hand, that does limit the amount of sewing you have to do, which is a good thing for me ^_^” In the end, it turned out that I didn’t stuff the neck enough, so now he kind of hangs his head because of the weight from his toadstool hat. But I think that makes him look a little bit shy and a whole lot cuter ❤

He loves hanging around near the lights that are left over from the Christmas decoration

He loves hanging around near the lights that are left over from the Christmas decoration

Or just staring outside, thinking of how lucky he is to be inside with all this cold weather

Or just staring outside, thinking of how lucky he is to be inside with all this cold weather

I love how, in the pattern, he’s made with yarn that looks kind of earthy. So I tried to find the right colours and succeeded with my first try! A stand at the market had just the yarn I needed (Annell Rapido Plus) and I love the way he turned out. This was a heavier kind of yarn than was used for the pattern though. The main colour was said to need about 50 grams, which amounts to one skein most of the time, but I ended up using three skeins of 50grams. For the other colours, one skein per colour turned out to be enough, luckily. Especially since it was quite a hassle to get my hands on the two extra skeins I needed. But I already vented that fruststration ^_~

A detail of his grass-embroidered sweater

A detail of his grass-embroidered sweater

And his toadstool hat of course! (you can take it off ^_^)

And his toadstool hat of course! (you can take it off ^_^)

I always love to know who I’m making an ami for and I had just the person in mind for this one. As I’m writing this, I haven’t given it to him yet, but when I do, I’ll be sure to let you all know if he liked it 🙂

Cheers, Lydia

Edit 1-15-2014: He LOVED it ^___^

5 thoughts on “Toadstool Paul

  1. Pingback: Octopi Family – the tale of a Crochet Lounge gone wild | Crochetnanigans

  2. HI Lydia!
    I’m having problems with the legs. I don’t know how to join them.
    Could you please explain how you did it? I don’t understand how to have 46 stitches at the end of the join round.
    THANKS A LOT!

    • Hello Dave,
      I had to check the pattern again to see what I did. Basically you join the legs by stitching two single crochet stitches together and then you work around one leg to the other side, where you jump to the second leg and work around to the stitch where you joined. In theory it should be 46 sc, because both legs have 23 sc (23×2=46) But since you join two sc together, I believe I increased one sc at the end of the round to make an even 46sc. Hope this helps!
      Good luck ^_^
      Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

