Pattern #9: Magikarp!

I can’t get away from making Pokémon patterns, but then again, it seems like it is easier for me when I know what the amigurumi should look like before I translate into crochet. I’m still having a hard time figuring out certain shapes, but I am also getting better. So after a friend of mine asked if I could make him a Magikarp, I first ventured onto the Internet to see if there was a pattern fitting for my needs already. I couldn’t find much really, apart from hats, so I decided to make my own.

So without further ado:

Magikarp Crochet Pattern!

A wild Magikarp appeared!

A wild Magikarp appeared!

Materials
Orange, white, yellow, pink, and black yarn. 4.5mm safety eyes, stuffing.

Abbreviations
ch – chain
ss – slip stitch
sc – single crochet
dec – decrease
st – stitch
fo – finish off
repeat ** – repeat what is in between **
(x) – x is the amount of stitches you should have at the end of the row

The Pattern
The pattern is worked in rounds unless it says otherwise. You do not need to join rounds.

Eyes (make 2)
With white yarn, ch2
Round1: 4sc in second chain from the hook (4)
Round2: 2sc in every st around (8)
Fo, leaving a tail of yarn to sew the eyes to the body.

Body
With orange yarn, ch2
Round1: 6sc in second chain from the hook (6)
Round2: 2sc in every st around (12)
Round3: 1sc in every st around (12)
Round4: *1sc in first st, 2sc in next st* repeat ** 5 times (18)
Round5-6 (2 rounds): 1sc in every st around (18)
Round7: *1sc in first 2st, 2sc in next st* repeat ** 5 times (24)
Round8-11 (4 rounds): 1sc in every st (24)
Round12: *1sc in first 2st, dec1* repeat ** 5 times (18)
Round13-14 (2 rounds): 1sc in every st (18)
Round15: *1sc in first st, dec1* repeat ** 5 times (12)
Round16: 1sc in every st around, front loops only! (12)
Fo, attach the eyes and stuff the body. Make sure not to stuff too tightly, since the body needs to be flattened a bit to get the right shape.

Mouth
To make the mouth, attach black (or in this case, dark grey) yarn to round 16 of the body, back loops only!
Round1: 1sc in every st around (12)
Round2: dec6 (6)
Fo and weave in the ends, closing the gap with an end of yarn.
Then, you attach pink yarn to round 16 of the body and sc1 all around (12) this gives you the lips. Fo and weave in the ends.

DSC05274Tail
With white yarn, ch2
Round1: 6sc in second chain from the hook (6)
Round2: 2sc in every st around (12)
Round3: *1sc in first st, 2sc in next st* repeat ** 5 times (18)
Round4: *1sc in first 2st, 2sc in next st* repeat ** 5 times (24)
Round5: *1sc in first 3st, 2sc in next st* repeat ** 5 times (30)
Switch to orange yarn, fold your work and crochet together with about 15sc. Fo, leave an end of yarn to sew the tail to the body. With black yarn, embroider two lines down the tail.

Now it’s time to work on the fins! Please note that these are worked in rows! Also, if you’re having trouble figuring this part out, you can always cut the right shapes out of felt and glue them to the body ^_^

Backfin
With yellow yarn
Row1: ch4, turn
Row2: starting from the second chain from the hook sc in every ch, ch1, turn (3)
Row3: 1sc in every st, ch3, turn
Row4: starting from the second chain from the hook sc5, ch1, turn (5)
Row5: sc2, ch2 turn
Row6: starting from the second chain from the hook sc3, fo and leave an end of yarn to sew the backfin on top of the body.
Your end result should look like this:

Backfin

Backfin

Bellyfin
With yellow yarn
Row1: ch3, turn
Row2: starting from second chain from the hook, sc2, ch1, turn
Row3: sc1, ch2, turn
Row4: sc2, ch1, turn
Row5: sc1, ch3, turn
Row6: sc3, ch1 but don’t turn
Row7: work a row of sc along the side of your work. Fo and leave a tail of yarn to attach the belly fin to the underside of the body.
Your end result should look like this:

Belly Fin

Belly Fin

Pectoral Fins (make 2)
With white yarn
Row1: ch7, turn
Row2: sc6, ch1, turn
Row3: sc4, ch3, turn
Row4: sc6, fo.
Attach orange yarn to the side of the fin and ss around the side and top of the fin. Fo and leave a tail of yarn to attach the fins to the sides of the body. using black yarn, embroider two lines across the fins.
Make sure you make a right and a left fin, by ss across a different side for each fin. Or else, the orange rim will be at the bottom of one of the fins!

The end result should look like this:

DSC05271

For the feelers, cut a length of yellow yarn and make a nice big knot at the end. Thread it in a needle and insert the yarn through a gap between stitches. Make it come out through a stitch just below the eyes, so that the knot at the end stays firmly inside. Do the same on the other side and cut the ends to be the desired length.

Tadaa~, your very own Magikarp is done!

Note that Magikarp and all other Pokémon are copyright of Nintendo.
Please do not sell or publish this pattern as your own. If you do use it, please give credit to me and link back to my site, thank you in advance! If you have any questions regarding this pattern, or just want to show off your work, feel free to contact me ^_^

Cheers, Lydia

15 thoughts on “Pattern #9: Magikarp!

  1. Pingback: Puntos de Fantasía

  2. Pingback: Patrón gratis amigurumi de un precioso pececillo - agumirumis

  3. Pingback: Pokemon GO | Angel Crochet Shop

  4. Pingback: Patrón amigurumi gratis de Magikarp de Pokemon - amigurumis y más

  5. Pingback: Pokemon Crochet Patterns You Need To Make! - Midwestern Moms

  6. Hi, I’m having problems with the top find, it only has 2 points on it and I’ve re-started it like ten times! Please help me! 😆

    • If you’re finished, turn the work 90 degrees so that the starting chain is on the side rather than on the bottom. You may need to pull at the first corner a bit.
      Took me a little time to figure out what exactly I did there, so I can understand your confusion. My apologies and I hope this helps!
      Good luck

    • Hi there,
      Glad you liked the pattern.
      You are more than welcome to link to this pattern, but I would prefer if you did not put a complete translation up. I hope you understand.
      Cheers, Lydia

  7. Pingback: Les pokémons au crochet – Le bazar de Morgane

  8. I would like to make this amigurumi several sizes bigger. Do you have any tips? I am already using a larger hook and thicker yarn with the one I’m making now. Magikarp is my absolute favorite pokemon and I just want another one in a snuggle size. Thank you so much for your help! And by the by your magikarp patterns is by far one of the best I have seen! And I have looked pretty much everywhere! ♡ Kat

    • Hi Kat,
      First off, thank you very much (you’re making me blush)
      Second, I’m afraid there is only so much a thicker yarn and bigger hook will do. To actually get a snuggle size magikarp, you would need to significantly alter the pattern. More rounds and increases for the body won’t be too difficult, but then to get the fins to the right size will be a lot harder. All in all, I’m afraid you will have to be looking for a different pattern, sorry.
      But you did give me an idea and as I will be having more time on my hands again soon, I will try to come up with another solution. But for now it will have to wait.
      Sorry, Lydia

  9. Pingback: Fishing Up Magikarp: A Crochet Round Up | Stitching Yarns

Leave a Reply

