~Sooo busy…

Do you ever get that feeling that you’ve taken too much yarn on your hook?
Currently, I’m working on three projects at once. And I actually feel like doing one extra at the same time. I really need to pace myself.

I have a table in the corner of the living room, right between the couches, where I put all the stuff I’m working on. It currently looks like this:

DSC03099

I’ve started on the goat for my boyfriend, but about halfway I came to the conclusion I don’t have nearly enough yarn to finish it. The pattern calls for about 60 grams of white yarn, but I bought a heavier sort. I figured that if I just took two skeins (about 100 grams) I would be fine, but now I’ve got the body and almost half the head done and I’ve run out. So I need to order some more.

Then, I started on something different than the ami’s I’m so used to making: a handbag. For this I need to use a really thick band-like material, RibbonXL. But since this is so thick, I need to use a 10mm hook and it’s so very heavy to work on. I finished four rounds and my hands were hurting like crazy. Also, the pattern uses a special kind of stitch to make little loops in your work, but it’s pretty difficult to do, especially since it’s been very cold lately and my hands are all dried out, making it pretty hard to hold on to anything.

And lastly, I started on a mystery project, which is supposed to be a present for a friend of mine. Contrary to the handbag, this project requires pretty tiny, fidgety work, which also makes my hands hurt.

Good new is: my yar of Lucky Stars is almost full! I have to admit I’ve been working more on lucky stars than on my crochet work lately. But then again, it’s good to change things up once in a while. Maybe I’ll be able to get some order into my inspiration and work on everything one at a time again!

Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

