I should update / Hook-in

1000706

I really should, but what exciting news do I have for you?

Well, nothing extremely special really. Except for this.

Last week, me and a friend went to a so-called ‘Hook-in’. Now, I know you’re all wondering what the fudge a hook-in is. Well, basically, it’s a gathering of people who like to crochet. You bring your own work with you and/or whatever project you are working on at the moment and you all sit down in the same room and well.. crochet. Plus, there is tea and coffee and all sorts of sugary goodness!

I had a lot of fun that evening. It gave me a great opportunity to see other people work on their crochet and talk about all sorts of different techniques and styles. For instance, I managed to surprise quite a few people with the tutorial I’d used for the hair on my My Little Ponies. (it can be found here)
And in turn, I got to see how your work turns out if you finish off every round with a slip stitch. I know now that it’s not really for me, but then again, it does make it a bit easier to see where your last round ends and the next one begins, plus, colour changes are a lot smoother that way. (I usually hide my colour changes at the back of bottom of my work or behind limbs…)

The event was organised by a Dutch crochet studio called ‘Echtstudio’ and it was held in their actual studio/store. It was great fun to see all the different kinds of yarn they sell. They also had loads of different amigurumi’s, bags and other accessories on display, which was awesome to see. I actually just wanted to browse all evening, but instead I got a little bit of work done on my Catbus and just chatted the rest of the time away.

Here are some pictures I nicked from the Echtstudio facebook page:

576136_620221421327174_354677979_n 602833_620221357993847_1236477534_n

It was pretty full, but really cozy at the same time 🙂
And the best part of the evening? 10% off everything you bought there! But I managed to contain my enthusiasm and actually only bought some yarn that I’d needed:

DSC03078
I really needed to get more dark-brown, as the Catbus was starting to devour my last skein. And I simply adore the fuzzy yarn, they actually had a lot more colours and shades, but I had to take it easy and only took some colours that could be used in an upcoming project (ssst, it’s a secret ^_~ ). Great thing is, I can always order more from their online shop! I did already, couldn’t resist the package deal for their Easter Bunny pattern, got the pattern in my mailbox immediately (PDF file, yay!) and I should have gotten the yarn in the post today, but I haven’t checked yet. They also have some free patterns on their site, which are really fun to make.

And just for fun, here’s a link to Echtstudio on facebook. It is all in Dutch, mind you.

To finish my rambling, I learned something new about myself that night. I appear to have a “crochet-tic”. I put my yarn over the hook as if I’m knitting! Well, the best excuse I could think of was that I learned how to crochet with my right hand, while I’m actually left-handed. But frankly, I have no idea why I would do that. It’s not as if I’m more familiar with knitting or anything. Oh well, I was quickly consoled by another guest who admitted that she didn’t like to crochet in public much because she had a tic of her own. I never got to see what it was though…

Well, I hope you guys enjoyed another bit of my rambling! I might be able to put up some pictures of the Catbus pretty soon. Right now, it’s just down to making all the paws (that thing has TWELVE legs 0_O) and the windows and then it’s just a matter of sewing it all together.

Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

