Something else entirely

Sometimes, I don’t want to crochet anything. As shocking as it may seem, this can happen quite often ^_~ Luckily, I know other ways to pass the time, such as reading a good book and watching some tv. But every once in a while, that just doesn’t seem to be enough.

Around the same time I learned about crocheting, I stumbled upon another crafty passtime that blew over from Japan: folding Lucky Stars. Basically, you take a long strip of paper, knot it at first and then you start to fold it over itself time and time again, until you are left with a little piece at the end, which you fold into the star and then you puff it up by squeezing the sides. It’s fun to do and the strips of paper you can use for it are pretty much always printed with the cutest patterns.

Lucky Star paper strips

Lucky Star paper strips

I especially enjoy the shiny ones, not only because they look pretty, but also because the paper is a bit thinner and easier to fold.

Anyways, here are some pictures to show you guys how it’s done. Please don’t pay too much attention to my fingers and nails. The weather has been extremely dry around here lately and my nails still haven’t recovered from the acrylic nails I had put on for New Years.

Instructions

Instructions

First, you loop the paper

First, you loop the paper

Then, you pull the short end through the loop

Then, you pull the short end through the loop

Pull it tight and flatten the piece, you start to see the five-sided shape

Pull it tight and flatten the piece, you start to see the five-sided shape

Fold the short end over the knot and start folding the long end along the back of your work

Fold the short end over the knot and start folding the long end along the back of your work

Keep folding the long side over and over until you are left with an end that's not long enough to fold over completely

Keep folding the long side over and over until you are left with an end that’s not long enough to fold over completely

Stuff the last bit into the folds so that you don't have the end sticking out

Stuff the last bit into the folds so that you don’t have the end sticking out

Now, you have a flat star, but you still need to puff it up

Now, you have a flat star, but you still need to puff it up

Squeeze in the sides with your fingernails

Squeeze in the sides with your fingernails

If you do this all around, you get a nicely puffed up star!

If you do this all around, you get a nicely puffed up star!

I have been doing this for a while now and it can be pretty addictive. I try to limit myself by only letting me buy the paper strips at conventions. I got my first batch at Abunai! in august 2012 and went through it like a madman. Then, I had to wait until Tsunacon 2013 (two weeks back) to get some more. Here in the Netherlands, you can also order them online from Most Cutest. The people who run the website also give workshops at some conventions. At Tsunacon, they could even be found with their own table in the dealer room. Which was extremely crowded, but I still managed to get a good stash of new strips ^_^

I’m currently at around 850 folded Lucky Stars. I keep them all in a big jar which I really want to get completely filled up. Which could be pretty soon… I hope at least 1000 Lucky Stars will fit in there.

I wonder how many I can fit in here...

I wonder how many I can fit in here…

There are some numbers of lucky stars that have special meaning:
1 star: The only one
2 stars: Happy Couple
9 stars: Love for a long time
55 stars: Love you
99 stars: May the friendship/love last forever
365/366 stars: Whole year blessing
548 stars: Can’t stop loving you
999 stars: Endless love
1314 stars: Eternity love

So if you want to give that special person some extra happiness and luck, make sure to fold the right number of stars ^_~

Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

