Birthday spoils

This weekend I got to celebrate my 26th birthday. I enjoyed a day full of visits from family and friends and got spoiled rotten with presents. The loot included a couple of crochet pattern books. Some, I had wanted for a while now and some, I didn’t even know existed. One of my friends decided it was time for me to learn how to knit as well. Either that, or she couldn’t remember whether I was into knitting or crochet ^_~

Funny thing is, two of the books I recieved were for making Christmas ornaments. One for crochet, one for knitting! “Kerstballen haken” by various authors (Crochet Christmas ornaments, I don’t believe there is an English version of this one) and “Kerstballen breien met Arne & Carlos” by Arne Nerjordet and Carlos Zachrison (55 Christmas Balls to knit).

I got two more Dutch pattern books, one from my wishlist: “Amigurumi & Forest friends” by Tessa van Riet-Ernst. The other one was a surprise to me: “Nog meer minihondjes en beestjes haken” by various authors (Even more crochet minidogs and animals once again, I don’t think there is an English version). From this book, I already had a couple of patterns, since I own all the books from one of the authors, but there are still quite a couple of fun looking ones in there that I didn’t know already.

And then there were two English pattern books on my list: “Super scary crochet” by Nicki Trench and “Creepy cute crochet” by Christen Haden. So, if we ever decide to celebrate Halloween, I won’t have any trouble making decorations for that ^_^ I especially love the patterns in Creepy cute, they look so easy and fun to make! The patterns from Super scary crochet are a bit more elaborate and turn out less cute and more scary.

So, it looks like I will be busy making lots and lots of new ami’s. Plus, I have to learn how to knit!
In about three weeks, I’ve got two weeks of vacation time coming up, so I know I won’t be bored.

Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

