Pascal!

A friend of mine asked if I could make her a Pascal, the chameleon from the movie ‘Tangled’. I’d seen the movie as well and I simply loved his character. Animal sidekicks are always awesome, but there was something about his look that made me fall in love with him as soon as he came into view.

The pattern was a bit of a challenge, since I just couldn’t find one for free that suited my needs. I had made a crochet chameleon before from one of my pattern books (‘Kleine Knuffels Haken’ by Christel Krukkert, only available in Dutch). He came out like this:

Crochet Chameleon

But when you look at Pascal, that pattern just wouldn’t do:

Pascal

The feet are the wrong shape and Pascal really has to be able to stand up straight. Plus, his face has so much expression to it. It was going to be hard to recreate this in crochet form.
But I was willing to try either way.

Sadly, I only wrote down about half of the pattern I made. Maybe once I get better at making patterns and writing them down, I will redo him and make a full pattern. There are some things that I would like to change about him. Like the tail, I believe I made it too short. The face has a weird expression to it. And some of the details could have been better, but then again, I haven’t been into making my own patterns for very long. So for now, you will have to make do with just the pictures. Enjoy!

DSC02567 DSC02569 DSC02571 DSC02566

I stuffed his tail slightly and placed a pipecleaner in it, so you can bend and unbend it all you want.
I hope you guys like him, I know I do either way ^_^

Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

