Minion Mayhem

A little while back I watched the movie ‘Despicable me’ for the twentieth time (it could also have been the third time, I’m not entirely sure…) and suddenly it struck me: I haven’t even made a minion yet!
Luckily, a pattern was quickly found and I set to work. The project did have to be put on the backburner for a while, due to holidays, work and other things that got in the way, but shortly after New Year, I was able to finish this little guy.

DSC02644

You can find the pattern here. And a step-by-step guide to putting him together here.
The pattern wasn’t the easiest I’ve ever followed, so I don’t recommend it when you’re just starting. But if you are a little more experienced, it’s a great project!

I noticed too late that I’d made a couple mistakes, mostly with the eyes and mouth, but I really don’t want to redo them. The beauty of the minions is that they are all slightly different, so it isn’t a really big problem if it doesn’t come out exactly like the pictures with the pattern, right?

Another thing I love about this pattern is that most parts are removable. You can take your minion apart!

DSC02643

Mine gets a real butt-face without his goggles though -_-”

What’s also pretty cool is the fact that the buttons on the overalls really work:
DSC02645

The patterns gives the straps real life button-holes, which I think is awesome and very clever!

I don’t think my minion got as big as the one from All About Ami. Mostly because I used a smaller hook (2,5mm) and I think I used thinner yarn (never quite sure about the weights and such when it comes to yarn…)

Here’s one last picture of him guarding my pot of lucky stars:

DSC02641

I had loads of fun making this little guy and I hope you guys will as well!

Cheers, Lydia

4 thoughts on “Minion Mayhem

  1. Pingback: More Minion Mayhem! | Crochetnanigans

  2. I just think your minions came out cute and wish i could just make up patterns like you do! I just wanted to know about the purple minion when will you be putting out the pattern for it and if u could email it to me pleaz i dont sell just make for my kids! I am a mother of 4 two boys and 2 girls aging from 5 to 13 yrs old. Thank u

    • Thank you very much! I’m glad you like my work *blushes*

      I have almost all the materials I want to use for a purple minion and plan to start working on it in the next couple of days. As soon as I’m happy with the finished project and get the pattern typed out, it will appear on my blog, no worries 🙂 you’ll just need to check back every now and then 😉

      Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

