Early works

When I look back on the things I made in the beginning, I find it pretty amazing that I’ve grown this much in the last year and a half. For me, starting this blog has given me the opportunity to look back on my own progress and the things that baffled me in the beginning.

The very first crochet-pattern book I bought was “Super Super Cute Crochet” by Brigitte Read. It has 35 patterns for different animals. So far, I believe I have only made about three of the patterns from it, but the first two ami’s I made came from this book. The one that made me fall in love with the book, was also my very first crochet project was a whale.

my very first amigurumi

my very first amigurumi

It had some basic stitches, nothing too difficult, except for the tail (which consists of triple crochets and turned out to be pretty impossible for me to do so quickly after starting, so my mother-in-law did it for me). Now I use it as a pin-cushion, which makes it all the more amazing, it looks like a narwhal because of the huge needle I put in its forehead.
What attracted me the most in this pattern, was that it wasn’t all that lifelike and it had a really cute look about it thanks to the huge eyes. Unfortunately, it was pretty impossible for me to find proper safety eyes, so I had to embroider them on, same as the mouth. As you might notice, my embroidery skills are sucky to say the least, but still, I think this little guy has the perfect look for a first time crocheter.

I made my second project for my boyfriend, who had just started playing Minecraft at the time. Therefore, I believed, a square cow could not be missed!

Square cow

This became my first practice at crocheting in rows instead of rounds. As it turned out, making something square out of yarn was a bit more difficult than I expected.
In the end, I really like how it turned out though. It shows that I was inexperienced, but at the same time, it shows how much I’m trying to get it right. And to my boyfriend it didn’t really matter how it looked, he knows that it came from the heart 😉

Then, I got a book from Cristel Krukkert from a co-worker. Her patterns are a bit more cute and cartoony, but they certainly had great charm for me. I started making these animals as presents for newborn cousins of mine. Most of the projects were bigger than normal amigurumi, but they were still a lot of fun to make. Even though the patterns are larger, they consist mostly of many different parts, which makes for a less boring project. To be honest, I have the attention span of a hamster, so making parts that require me to do the same thing for several rounds quickly bore me.

The next thing I fell in love with was fuzzy yarn. It is both the most annoying and most amazing yarn to work with. It’s really hard to see your stitches, so it takes quite a bit of time to figure out if you’ve got the right amount. But at the same time, because it is so very fuzzy, you can’t really tell if you’ve missed a stitch, so it’s very forgiving. I started using this yarn for several different projects. For pretty much any animal, you can find a part that looks great in fuzzy yarn.

My first attempt at using fuzzy yarn.

My first attempt at using fuzzy yarn.

Over time, I started to make bigger and more compicated stuffed animals and when my pattern books did not seem to be sufficient  anymore, I turned to the internet.
There, I found that it was pretty easy to find free patterns in english and luckily, finding a translation scheme wasn’t too hard either. But when eventually the seemingly endless pool of patterns ran dry, I realised I had to start to try and make my own.

The first thing I ever made without a pattern was a Creeper (from the game Minecraft).

Foto0416

Thinking back now, I didn’t have too much trouble figuring this little guy out. I never wrote out the pattern, I just started trying and it kind of came to me. I have to admit, there isn’t much of a pattern to this guy. He basically consists of three square blocks, held together by split pens which make it possible to turn the head and feet. I managed to keep it more square by using some squares of cardboard in the bases.

So that’s pretty much a cronological telling of my earliest works.
I realise how very boring these posts may be to my reader(s), but then again, I simply could not start a blog with patterns out of the blue without so much as a little background. I do promise however, that my next post will hold a pattern!

Until then,
Cheers, Lydia

Leave a Reply

